Jones chairs the city funds committee, which also includes Mayor Lyda Krewson and Comptroller Darlene Green.

Each year, she says, the committee approves a list of approved financial institutions that can get city deposits. Then city agencies choose from that list.

Hundreds of millions of dollars are involved, Jones said.

“I will use this committee and my position to get the best service for the city, and investment in the community, from our financial partners,” Jones said.

Jones said that although the committee had authority under state law to block any banks that applied, that hadn’t happened since she became treasurer in 2013.

Instead, she said, the city’s requesting the detailed data tends to get banks to improve their performance on such issues.

The list of institutions on the approved list for the fiscal year ending June 30 includes 13 banks and one credit union….Read the full story